Year's end wind-up

last weekend picked up speed.

May 21, graduation day, on the calendar all year, came on fast. The final weekend picked up speed on Saturday with company and individual drill competition at eight, followed by award ceremonies in the gym at ten, honor company parade at four, and the commencement dance at nine.

Saturday's awards program began with presentation of the Retired Officers Asso-ciation Medal to Gregg Baxter for high moral character, loyalty to the school, and exceptional leadership potential. Ian Osborne received the Military Order of the World Wars Silver Medal presented to a junior for overall improvement in both scholastic and military leadership areas. That organization's Bronze Medal, for overall military excellence and leadership went to Henry Taylor; its Gold Medal, presented to the outstanding cadet in the senior class, to Will Rice. Recipient of the National Sojourners Medal, presented to the cadet displaying outstanding leadership potential, demonstrated ideals of Americanism, and high academic achievement, was Ted Hughes. For outstanding JROTC achievement and academic excellence by a junior class member, David Rutledge won the Order of the Daedalion Medal. The Veterans of Foreign Wars Medal, to a senior with outstanding military bearing, patriotism, and overall lead-ership potential, went to JJ Campbell. Bob Whitmire received the Daughters of the American Revolution Medal awarded to a senior of outstanding ability, achievement, dependability, and high moral character. The United States Army Recruiting Command Award was presented to Mike Nelson, a senior demonstrating leadership in extracurricular activities and a desire to enter a military career. American Legion Awards for general military excellence and citizenship went to Matthew Stokes, silver medal to a junior; and bronze to senior Patrick McGraw. Association of the United States Army Awards for leadership and high moral character were to Gary Spencer, freshman; Michael Balducci, sophomore; Ashley Saulnier, a senior in LET III; and David Stepp, LET IV. Best Drilled Cadet Award, determined by the morning's drill competition was Gregg Hill. Second and third places were to Josh Estep and Bob Whitmire. Beau Markolf won the N. S. Meyer Raeburn Award, a \$100. tuition scholarship, for demonstrated outstanding personal appearance and military bearing. BJ Lathan, with only three, earned the Deportment Medal for the cadet with fewest demerits all year.

Superior Cadet Awards for outstanding participation in Leadership Education and Training (LET I through IV) were Robby Mosier, Kevin McDaniel, Will Mitchell, and Will Rice. JJ Campbell received the Commandant's Award, presented to the most outstanding cadet in the school, other than the battalion commander. For the second consecutive year, "A"

For the second consecutive year, "A" earned Honor Company distinction.

In the scholastic realm, JJ Campbell and Bob Whitmire received Presidential Academic Fitness awards. In debate, Doug Eader was most improved and Robby Mosier earned coach's award. Bobby Simmons received the E. Haines Gregg Award for musical accomplishment, and Dana Lunsford won the John Philip Sousa Award in band, a peer selection. Included in *Who's Who in American Music* are Dana Lunsford, Jim Denton, and Scott Garmon.

Named Scholar-Athlete was Will Rice; Athlete of the Year, Ron Landers. In *football*, most valuable player was Ron Landers; most valuable offensive back, Lonnie Broome; offensive lineman, Michael Isom; defensive back, Neil Jackson; defensive lineman, Ted Dailey; most improved, Scott Serpas. Coaches Award went to Evan Samli. In cross country, most valuable was Vince Minelli; most improved, Brian Latture; and receiving Coach's Award was Mike Nelson. Most valuable *basketball* player was Lewis Sharp; offensive, Ron Landers; defensive, Mike Aaron; most improved, Happy Tay-lor. Coach's Award winner was David Pri-ce. In *wrestling*, Ted Dailey was most valuable; Shea Wilkinson, most improved; and coach's award winner was BJ Lathan. Lewis Sharp was most valuable baseball player; Craig Garges, offense; Happy Tay-lor, defense; Danny Laird, most improved. Coach's Award went to Kevin McDaniel and Ted Hughes won the E. Haines Gregg Sportsmanship Award. Barratt Burch was most valuable soccer player; Mike Aaron, offense; Chris Nakos, defense; Eric Gadlage, most improved. Jon Felice copped the coach's award. In tennis, Allen Watford, coach's award winner, was most valuable, and Tracy Sanders, most improved. Ted Dailey was most valuable *track* team member; Carlton Walker, most improved. Earning coach's award was Hutter Ragland. Rifle team recognition went to Jay Thurston, most valuable; Mark Herron, most improved. Coach's award was to Ian Osborne; the E. Haines Gregg Sportsmanship Award to Scott Haskell. Most valuable golf team member for the fourth consecutive year was David Stepp; Chad Mangum was most improved. Coach's award recipient was Ashley Saulnier.

At Sunday morning's nine o'clock Senior Dress Parade, well-organized Class of '89 pranksters provided fellow grads with tassels for their caps and, on signal, seniors affixed them with alligator "roach" clips and marched forward to be honored at their final review.

At ten in the gym, Rev. Louie C.

McDonald, youth pastor at First Baptist Church of Camden, was a commencement speaker to emulate. He analyzed his audience, spoke their language, and held their attention throughout his presentation, in spite of sultry heat. Awards and recognition continued through the graduation ceremony. Gold Star awards for students with 90.0 averages or above for the second semester went to MS Aaron, Balducci, Barnett, Brook, JJ Campbell, Christenson, Eader, Edmondson, Flanagan, Gantt, Hughes, Jordan, Landers, LeVine, McDaniel, Mosier, Osborne, Pote, Reinman, Rice, Saulnier, Sciulli, Spencer, Stokes, Wamer, and Whitmire. Recognized for highest class averages were: JB Thornton, seventh grade; CJ Reinman, eighth; JR Mosier, ninth; M. Balducci, tenth; KD McDaniel, eleventh; RV Whitmire, twelfth. WR Rice earned second highest average among seniors, JJ Campbell, third. Cadet LTC William R. Rice was com-

Cadet LTC William R. Rice was commended for his service as Battalion Commander and Robert V. Whitmire received the coveted James F. Risher Award, a peer selection which recognizes the senior most nearly exemplifying the ideal cadet. Col Risher presented diplomas, "Taps" sounded, and 42 graduates and five seniors who will complete requirements at the end of summer school marched out to "Pomp and Circumstance," into alumni ranks. A final order for dismissal of the corps signalled end of the school year.

Photos: Tasseled seniors, in a one-time-only uniform embellishment, in line to be honored at their parade graduation morning: Greg Baxter, Steve Robinson, Dana Lunsford, Jay Thurston, Revis Aaron, Mike Sciulli, Gregg Marlatt, Mike McCoy, Will Mitchell, Scott Garmon, Chet Lightcap. Far right, Dean of Students LTC James Dallas presents the James F. Risher Award to Bob Whitmire at graduation ceremonies. Below, Mike Aaron (far left) signals the first 12 seniors to rise for their diplomas.

