## LITERARY SOCIETY

Under the excellent supervision of Capt. M. Carson Sturgeon and Capt. Frank Estes, the James M. Grimes Literary Society went forth into a very successful year. Outstanding progress was made in public speaking, debating, and other literary fields.

The Literary Society is composed of twenty-five chosen members. The officers for this year were: Arthur Albrecht, *President*; Jimmy Mangum, *Vice-President*; Charles Sams, *Secretary-Treasurer*; Leslie Allen, *First Critic*; and Merwyn Applegate, *First Censor*.

The Society meets every Saturday night at which time the members participate in various oratorical and other literary activities.

The club has proved to be a great aid in the cultural development of its members as well as extending their knowledge of world literary affairs.



Seated, Left to Right: ALLEN, L. N., MANGUM, ALBRECHT, A. J., SAMS, APPLEGATE. Standing: HOLLIDAY, MURRAY, KLINE, HAYFORD, SPELL, MILLER, SHELEY, W. T., JACKSON, J. B., KENNERLY, JOHNSON, G. B., McELMURRAY, PAETZEL, BROWN, B., HUGGINS, BRIGHT, RISHER, MACDONALD, FAHRNEY.