LITERARY SOCIETY

The James M. Grimes Literary Society again completed a successful year under the excellent supervision of Capt. M. Carson Sturgeon.

Great achievement was made in public speaking, debating, and compositionary fields at the monthly meetings.

The members, twenty-five in all, are carefully selected students, who in the minds of the electors, will both contribute to and benefit in the success of the Society.

The officers for the year, 1949-50, were: Charles M. Sams, President; Kenneth Huggins, Vice-President; William Shealy, Secretary-Treasurer; Eddie Paetzel, First Critic; Bobby Brown, First Censor.



Seated, Left to Right: PAETZEL, HUGGINS, K., SAMS, SHEALY, BROWN, B. Standing: ISELEY, SMITH, H., SAXTON, DUCKWORTH, O'KEEFE, SWINDELL, J. F., MIXSON, PLAMPIN, SHULL, BROWN, O. F., McELMURRAY, PIPKINS, FINCHER, ROGERS, R. B., PRIDGEN, SUMMEY, WEEKS, REID, J., FENTRESS.