Glee Clubs

Director: Miss Meyer

Our Glee Clubs have long been numbered among the foremost ranks of Southwest's music groups. As we look back, we see that they were formed in 1937, the Girls Glee under the sponsorship of Miss Press and the Boys Glee under that of Mr. Monachesi. Slightly over a year later the direction of both clubs was taken over by Miss Meyer. The World War claimed Miss Meyer's services and Miss Thym substituted for the "duration." Then, war being over, "Major" Meyer returned and has directed their activities ever since.

Through the years the members of these two clubs have been busy doing their part in providing school entertainment. Year after year we have all enjoyed their fine performances in operettas, Christmas programs, and spring festivals. Besides these annual activities there have often been occasions for these groups to make appearances in special aud sessions.

Junior Girls Glee is the baby of all of Southwest's fine music groups. This ensemble, which was born in the spring of 1955, was formed primarily to prepare its members, many of whom are freshmen and sophomores, for membership in the more advanced choral groups. It was not long before this new organization caught the active spirit of the other music groups. We find the club joining with the other choral groups in our operetta, Christmas program, and spring festival. In spite of its short existence, we are proud to say that the Junior Girls Glee Club has certainly taken its place in the music family of Southwest High School.

All three of these groups have kept up on the social end of the line as well as the musical. Besides taking part in the department's social activities, they have also had a number of their own, which included "pizza" parties, and hayrides.

Row One: J. Vierheller, N. Kidwell, M. Cardaro, S. Britton, D. Krauss, A. Smith, G. Mueller, J. Mandeville, B. Busch, S. Spooner.

Row Two: D. Georgopoulos, J. Miller, C. Kuehnel, D. Darr, P. Lucy, C. Goodman, C. Gray, M. Yanni, L. Wheat, B. Borchert, M. Milford, D. Timmons. Row Three: L. Raymer, M. Jarvis, R. King, J. Hader, C. Webster, D. McGrew, S. Sparberg, J. LaPlant, C. Heithaus, M. Hagen, M. Widener, P. Matheny.

Row Four: B. Boyce, S. Schrand, K. Heggen, J. Scheadler, J. Schrepel, J. Eckhoff, S. McMillion, B. Heimbacher, L. Haid, S. Awlgwr, J. Northrup, V. Signorelli.

Row Five: J. Hemminghaus, L. Robinson, E. Tietjens, E. Bent, A. Andrews, C. Juenger, J. Sievers, B. Robinson, S. Marshall, J. Siefert, W. Leithauser, S. Woodmansee.

