## Cadet Awards 2003

## **Athletic Awards**

**Varsity Football** 

Rings to all players in an undefeated season achieved by a superb team effort

Junior Varsity Football

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Tom Tannenbaum Most Valuable Defensive Player: Ryan Hayden Most Valual Special Teams Player: Trayvon Owens

Junior High Football

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Justin Carter Most Valuable Defensive Player: Solomon Jeffress Coach's Award: John Artigues

Varsity Basketball

Most Valuable Player: Larry Blair Most Valuable Offensive Player: Vance Caraway Most Valuable Defensive Player: Akeem McMullen Coach's Award: Deon Briscoe, Maurice Stewart

Junior Varsity Basketball

Most Valuable Player: Fitz Lewis Most Improved Player: Thomas Tannenbaum Coach's Award: Adam Nation

Junior High Basketball

Most Valuable Player: Travis Isaacs Most Improved Player: Trevor Babcock Coach's Award: Clay Henderson

Wrestling

Most Valuable Wrestler: Ryan Hayden Most Improved Wrestler: Josh Davidian Coach's Award: Nick Leftwich

**Cross-Country** 

Most Valuable Runner: Jake Winger Hustle Award: Blake Lambert Coach's Award: Kyle Markey

Track and Field

Most Valuable Player: Terence King Most Improved Player: Larry Blair Coach's Award: Phillip Collins

Baseball

Most Valuable Player: Brad Byrd Most Improved Player: Jacob Chandler Coach's Award: T. J. Owens E. Haines Gregg Award: David Dunn

Golf

Most Valuable Player: Patrick Williams Most Improved Player: Scott Dailey Coach's Award: Ben Bowles

Soccer

Most Valuable Player: Cristian Romero Most Improved Player: Evan Martin Coach's Award: Daniel Douglas

Junior Varsity Soccer

Most Valuable Player: Kyle Markey Most Improved Player: Hansford Sasser Coach's Award: Trey Martin

Lacrosse

Most Valuable Player: Fitz Lewis Most Improved Player: Andrew Mills Coach's Award: Trey Martin

**Bowling** 

Most Valuable Player: Rickey Carothers Most Improved Player: Wylie Brabson Coach's Award: Chris Stamey

Rifle Team

Most Valuable Shooter: Milford Foreman Most Improved Shooter: Parker Davidson Coach's Award: Robert Adams E. Haines Gregg Award: Logan rostmeyer

Scholar/Athlete Award: Daniel Calkin

## **Academic Awards**

John Philip Sousa Award: Wayne Blackman Most Valuable Band Member: Rickey Carothers Most Valuable Member: Brian Czech E. Haines Gregg Award (Band): Billy Orris Junior Leadership: Jonathan Garrett, Earnest Mungo, Andrew Hemphill, Tim Leftwich, Fitz Lewis

Debate Team: Most Valuable, Tyshawn Thomas; Most Improved, Tyshawn Thomas; Coach's Award, Trey Martin

DAR Good Citizenship Award: Philip Palmgren

Scholarships

Joseph Allen: ROTC, Marion Military Institute, \$30,000 over two years

Larry Blair: Basketball, Liberty University Joshua Blankenship: Newberry College, \$2,000 for

Matthew Boland: SC Coaches Association, \$4,000 over four years; USC Valedictiorian Scholarship, \$3,000; Life Scholarship

Deon Briscoe: Basketball, High Point University Zachary Butler: Cross-country, Wingate University Daniel Calkin: Georgia Military College, \$6,000 Vance Caraway: Basketball, Coker College Phillip Collins: Georgia Leadership, \$15,000 over two years

David Dunn: University of South Florida, \$40,000

over four years

Patrick Higgins: Football, Arkansas State University Shawn Kimble: Basketball, Mars Hill College David Laggis: Football, University of South Carolina Bryon Miles: Deacon's Aid Award, \$500 Ibin Raheem: Football, The Citadel Maurice Stewart: Basketball, College of the

Siskiyous (CA) Rico Stewart: Basketball, Roanoke College

Adam Toomes: Life Scholarship Zackery Turner: Ouida Moffet McKuen Scholarship, \$750 for four years; Winthrop University, \$4,700 for

four years; Life Scholarship Kevin Tyson: AFROTC Scholarship, NC Central University, \$32,000 over four years

Gold Stars

JA Allen, TA Babcock, HT Barker, CN Baughman, AI Bell, KD Benoit, TC Blaine, MT Boland, DAT Browne, JT Bumgarner, JT Burnette, BK Byrd, CB Church, PL Collins, RP Collins, SN Crawford, BJ Czech, S Dailey, SF Darabi, RB Darr, JC Davidian, CP Desouza, DL Dunn, TEP Eanes, MT Earl, GA Estes, JK Fisher, DM Foley, JM Garcia, JN Garrett, JA Grubb, HL Gu, BN Haley, CT Harrington, RJ Hayden, CD Henderson, PM Higgins, JA Hunt, R Hylton, AA Irvin, TW Isaacs, KM Kakadelis, JC Kallgren, JR Keefe, DJ Laggis, MB Lambert, ES Land, JA Land, MT Land, CJ Langlo, NV Leftwich, RS Lewis, HC Long, LO Lott, JC Lucas, CE Martin, JD McAfee, CA McFarlin, WA Meyer, DR Millar, JQ Miller, JA Moore, WJ Muller, EE Murphy, AL Nation, BA Nelson, MA Nunnery, JW O'Brien, DS Oliver, WK Orris, Jr., DH Palmer, PT Palmgren, LA Parker, F Perez-Funes, TS Pressley, TE Pritchett, AJ Rayfield, CC Romero, LW Rostmeyer, HM Sasser, CT Scott, WB Scott, SE Shockley, SR Smith, IP Steigelman, DM Stewart, BS Stone, BN Streett, WE Taber, AH Thomas, TM Thomas, AJ Toomes, ZE Turner, KD Tyson, CE Whitman, PJ Williams, TB Wood, JT Wright

**Highest Class Averages** 

12th Grade: Phillip Collins 11th Grade: Ian Steigelman 10th Grade: William K. Orris, Jr. 9th Grade: Eric Land 8th Grade: Samuel Crawford 7th Grade: Adam Nye

## Military Awards

James F. Risher Award AC Swinton

General Douglas MacArthur Award: AC Swinton

Daughters of the American Revolution Award PT Palmgren

Veterans of Foreign Wars Award: JC Southard

Commandant's Award: PT Palmgren

JROTC Superior Cadet Award LET I: TR Campbell LET II: DR Millar

LET III: RC Adams LET IV: JM Chandler

The Order of the Daedalion: DA Hurt

The National Sojournes Award: EJ Mungo

United States Army Recruiting Command Award: BN Haley

The American Legion Awards: Silver: CM Hayes Bronze: IA Moore

The Military Order of the World Wars Awards:

Silver: RA Kessler Bronze: LS Banks

United States Army Reserve Scholar/Athlete Award: AJ McMullen

The Association of the United States Army Award:

LET I: TE King DM Foley LET II: LET III: FH Lewis LET IV: DJ Calkin

The Sons of the American Revolution Award: WE Oshorne

The Order of the Purple Heart: KM Kakadelis

The American Veterans Awards: TH Leftwich

The American Legion Citizenship Award: WW Brabson, CE Whitman

Military Officers Association of America Award: **CE Stamey** 

Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite Award: JN Garrett

Marine Corps League Award: RJ Hayden

West Point Leadership Award: AS Hemphill

Best Individual Drill Award: TR Campbell, JC Deckard