

Row 3: J. Cook, T. Meiners, E. Wizeman, B. Simmons, T. Brew, B. Grana, D. Kracjcovic, F. Westerman, R. Stanley, D. O'Brien, V. Intagliata.

Row 4: B. Stoeppleman, Mr. Ashley, C. Lischer, Mr. Kenny, E. Devine.

Football

SW 7-Soldan 7

SW's two streaks came to an end as the Soldan Tigers scored early and held on to tie the Longhorns in league action at Roosevelt. After the kick-off, a Longhorn drive fell short of a first down, and Wofford punted out to the Soldan one. Henderson quickly lobbed a 9 yard pass to Brown, and the crowd sat stunned as the Soldan end outran the surprised SW secondary the remaining 90 yards to score. Offensive action was completed in the second quarter when Strader tallied on a 16 yard pass from Wofford. Gayle Taylor added the all-important extra point as he made a twisting, diving catch of a short-top pass.

SW 25-O'Fallon 0

The Steers snapped back to drub the O'Fallon Hornets in their next game. Carney tallied in the first and final quarters, and Geiger and Grana added 6 point touches while the line held O'Fallon's offense to a standstill.

SW 13—Hadley 33

SW suffered its first league defeat since 1956 as it dropped the season finale to Hadley's Golden Lions. Baker, Walker, Wyms, and Brown penetrated the Longhorn goal-line as the SW line cracked wide open. Geiger bowed out of competition in fine style as he scored both SW touchdowns.

Recap: Head Coach Kenny and assistant Coach Ashley masterminded the Longhorns to a top league standing. The defense was rated the best in the league, while only Hadley topped the Longhorns in offensive statistics. It is the general consensus that the boys were just "let down" for the Hadley game.

Co-captains were Rich Green and Bruce Geiger. Geiger, Green, and Jerry Gleason were elected to All Public High League teams, while Gleason made a place for himself on the mythical All-District and All-American squads. Receiving honorable mention in all-star balloting were Dick Strader, Tom Carney, and Tom Meiners.

The future is promising. Co-captains Bill Grana and Mike Sneed will head the eight lettermen who are returning for the 1959 season.